With employee attrition, it is recommended to delete the user within User Management. By doing so the user no longer has access to DataServ and is listed as inactive. Once a user is deleted, they cannot be reactivated but will require following the steps required to add a new user. Create User & Clone
The Delete User option provides the ability to delete a user.
- Select the down-arrow to the right of the "User to Delete" field, then select the user from the dropdown box.
- You will then need to review and check the boxes to acknowledge the recommendations for deleting a user.
- Once the boxes are checked the ‘Submit’ button will become active and you can select to complete deletion of the selected user.
Before marking a user as Deleted
Remove the user from all matrices - the Approval Matrix and the Initial Routing Matrix are a priority. The user may also be included in other matrices, such as a security matrix. If a replacement approver has been identified, they may replace the deleted user. If not, the matrix should be adjusted to operate without the deleted user.
For additional information Matrix Management Overview
Please note that deleting a user with documents assigned to them does not remove the Route To field value on those documents. The Route To field should be updated on those documents with another approver. If the Route To value is not updated on those documents, they will continue to be routed to the deleted user. These documents can be located by performing a search where the Route To field = "deleted user name"
Route to Search to find documents routed to deleted user.
The presence of the check boxes does not confirm that the user is listed on matrices or has documents routed to them. These are reminders that action may need to be taken to ensure that all pending documents routed to the user are updated and any matrix adjustments are made. If you have already reviewed/updated this information then you can check the boxes and move forward.
The deleted users' email will also be removed at the time of deletion so if you would need to set up the user again in the future you will be able to do so without issue.